vonpenguin wrote:Personally I'd rule that you can't take animal cohort twice. Most qualities will say if you can take them several times. Animal cohort isn't just a pet, it's a special bound. But if you allowed it I would say the bonus' don't stack.
Kajani wrote:On the other hand, even a warg can have more than one "animal brother", so I think it should be not per se ruled out that someone may have two animal cohorts (although the narrator should also kept in mind how the two react towards EACH OTHER - a wolf and a shadowcat may not like each other from the start, or a horse and any predator).
By the way - I understand how a raven could help, but in that case I would rather place a penalty on the oponent (if -1D or less is up to the narrator to decide) than give the PC +1. You may also think about to made a raven weaker in helping in combat (perhaps he gaves only +1 or +2 or +1B), but he could other than other animal cohorts do additional things from the start (like carrying messages etc.).
Just to be sure about that side-debate: The bonus of animal cohort applies only when the animal does not take an own action in the turn, right?
Kival wrote:Also te new rules for Wargs explicitly work that way, that you need to have more than one animal companion to warg into them, except if you even get the higher ability to allow for more than just your close animals.
SerJerk wrote:Kival wrote:Also te new rules for Wargs explicitly work that way, that you need to have more than one animal companion to warg into them, except if you even get the higher ability to allow for more than just your close animals.
Actually, the rules specify a single Animal Cohort, not multiple (see Warg). Skinchanger is what makes it so you're "no longer restricted to your Animal Cohort". So I think there's fair evidence that you can only have a single Animal Cohort, though admittedly it isn't completely spelled out this way. But there's no indication anywhere that you should have multiples.
SerJerk wrote:The Skinchanger ability lets you imprint on multiple animals. Nothing actually suggests that you can have multiple Animal Cohorts, though. Even Varamyr Sixskins has only one Animal Cohort.
Having a direwolf and a raven shouldn't be too overpowering, though. If the raven isn't a Cohort, it shouldn't be so obedient or useful - maybe require an Animal Handling check for some of the suggested actions, or make the raven perform certain tasks at a penalty. Remember that even trained messenger ravens still require a quality and a check to get through. It shouldn't be as simple as a whistle or a word to make a raven claw someone's eyes out.
Kival wrote:That's strange. I'd view him as having more than just one Animal Cohort.
Kival wrote:Should secondary animals then not be paid for at all via xp/DP?
Carriker wrote:Kival wrote:Should secondary animals then not be paid for at all via xp/DP?
The new Skinchanger Benefit in the GoT Edition of the core rules addresses wargs capable of seizing control over new animals.
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests