My first DARPG Campaign

Discuss our dark fantasy adventure tabletop roleplaying game based on BioWare's computer game, Dragon Age Origins.

My first DARPG Campaign

Postby Pelios » Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:36 pm

Hello all, I'm glad that there is still a good following and forum community for the DARPG. I was a little worried that it wouldn't make it to box set 3, but I believe that it will now go much further.

Anyways, I wanted to let you guys know how my main campaign is going.
First a little background info. I have been playing table top for a few years now. I played a bit of AD&D, Star Wars Saga Edition, Gamma World, D&D 3.0/3.5 D&D 4.0, and now Dragon Age. I also have my own D20 system for Mass Effect that me and a friend have developed, (still testing).

I personally love the DARPG system, mainly for its simplicity. For players new to tabletop (about half my players) it is an amazing tabletop to start with. Even my players that are veterans at tabletop agree it is one of their favorite experiences. Our group tends to get sidetracked easily, and goof off, but in the end we accomplish quite a bit every session. We have been playing 1-2 times a week since roughly the end of April, and my players are level 4, having done a good 15+ sessions.

Also I was inspired by the first DA video game to do what i called Origin Sessions. Where it was a 1 on 1 with me (GM) and 1 player. What we did was RP their background story, and depending on how accurate they played, (in accordance to a pre-written origin they provided me with) they would get bonus items in the main campaign. Everyone loved it, and we have all agreed that we will do more origin sessions from different parts of their backgrounds.

There was one reoccuring event in almost everyones origin. The NPC Pelios Darkheart. Sometimes disguised, sometimes not, he had a hand in bringing all the heroes together in Vintiver, to begin the Dalish Curse questline.

So here is a rough overview of what they have done so far: