Moderator: Super Moderators
Sidmen wrote:anyone can pick up Magic (Primal) for a +2 bonus to their Spellcasting tests, while only mages can make those tests.
Ghostdanser wrote:Ummmm...if you read the Class Power it states:
Arcane Lance: Mages learn to focus magical power through a staff or wand.
Ghostdanser wrote:So if you want to be a stickler for the rules the the Magic (Arcane Lance) focus points you back to the Class Power...and the Class Power states it's for Mages...that pretty well eliminates Warriors and Rogues from using Arcane Lance in my book. Feel free to interpret differently, but I don't see a loophole.
Sidmen wrote:You are absolutely right on one count, and horribly wrong on another.
Considering Set 1 and Set 2, there are four spells which ask for an opossed Magic (X School) test from the affected PC [not the caster]. Those are:
donsensey wrote:Hey guys
I've read for the first time paying close attention the Magic (Arcane Lance) focus, and it says: Using the mage’s class power of the same name. And as it isn't explicity prohibited, it crossed my mind the possibility to use the Arcane Lance with a class different than Mage. Always having a Staff or Wand [which seem to be the only explicit requisite].
What do you think about that?
Common sense would tell me No, but I think the RAW rules didin't prohibit a character to use it.
Of course a Mage get it for free at level 1, but a non-mage can get the Arcane Lance focus at level 3 [or any other secondary ability level up], so if you have a Wand or Staff and the Arcane Lance focus, maybe you can become a beam thrower warrior.
I insist, at first sight common sense would tell me No, but I'm a Rule person, and if the rules allow me to fly, I'll fly, not matter how ridiculous it sounds.
Hellebore wrote:The same is true of weapon focuses. There is nothing stopping a rogue taking the Heavy blades focus, but as there is no capacity for them to actually take the Heavy Blades weapon group, it doesn't really matter that they get +2 to hit with heavy blades.
Teryn wrote:I would like to point out that only mages can take magic focuses.
donsensey wrote:I insist, at first sight common sense would tell me No, but I'm a Rule person, and if the rules allow me to fly, I'll fly, not matter how ridiculous it sounds.
Grumm wrote:All in all, I found this just a tad silly.
Games are written to explain all of the things your characters CAN do, not all of the things that they CANNOT do. A book that listed every single thing that your character could not do would be infinitely long. Using the logic of 'well, it doesn't explicitly prohibit me from doing so', I as a DM could say 'well, it doesn't explicitly state that you don't have to declare that your character was breathing, so he/she passes out'.
DA is a pretty clear-cut system with specific classes. Warriors and Rogues don't get to cast spells, period. If they were allowed to, it would be in their class abilities.
Grumm wrote:I appreciate players who know the rules. I despise players who use their knowledge of the rules to try and break the system by doing things they know are not intended and totally against the nature of the system. I don't think you and I would get along very well in a game
donsensey wrote:Divine Talents?
What's that? =O
Users browsing this forum: Scott McFarland and 3 guests